A delicious 3 day vegan menu plan of client favorites

by hillaryshort

Image

Tomato Bisque

Image

pepper crusted portabello mushrooms with bearnaise sauce and mash

Image

Cajun portabello sandwich with avocado & remoulade

Image

Tomato, ‘mozarella’ & pesto pannini

Image

Black pepper shortcake with blackberry basil sauce and cinnamon cream

Image

Gardein chick’n scallopini with shitake sake sauce, braised pea shoots & udon noodle cakes

Image

California gardein chick’n salad wrap

Image

Lemon pistachio cookies with dried cranberries

 

Working as a personal chef for high profile clients in Los Angeles, I have gradually developed a preference for what I cook and prepare for my clients.  However, as it is food being put in their stomachs and not mine, I don’t have a say in how they eat. My favorite food to create is vegan cuisine.  I have been fortunate to have clients who request vegan meals.  Then I am in my element.  The downside of creating vegan fare, it is time consuming, therefore not always possible to prepare.  My two favorite cookbooks are: Tal Ronnen’s The Conscious Cook and Myra Kornfeld’s The Voluptuous Vegan.  

 Many friends and clients ask me what I prefer to cook. The answer is always vegan fare.  “Why?” they ask, especially as I am not a vegan.  It is simple, I love handling and creating  fruit, vegetables, oils, nuts, herbs, spices. These are the tastiest and most flavorful items I can put together.  I love combining fruits with nuts and herbs, or vegetables with fruit, nuts and herbs.  Also, in this time of cutting out sugar, wheat and dairy from people’s diets, there is so many flavors which burst together in these items. 

The next question asked: “why are you not a vegan?”  Simple, I have a hard time with soy and wheat products.  I can eat them occasionally but not all the time.  Without soy and wheat, I would find it hard to sustain a vegan diet. Also,  I prefer to eat only green veggies because white and yellow veggies are too carb heavy.  Therefore these food limitations decrease my daily dietary needs to only a few items. I need some meat and fish to keep up my energy.  If I could afford my own vegan personal chef, I would attempt a vegan diet, however, as I need to service others and have limited prep time for my own culinary desires, I will remain with chicken and fish to fill my protein needs.

I have put together a 3 day vegan summer menu for a client today; on the list are a sample of the meals my clients enjoy:

Summer Vegan Menu Ideas

 Breakfast ideas:

Tofu scrambled with a choice of spinach, mushrooms and onions. Served with a ‘hollandaise’ sauce. On a Ezekiel wrap or toast.

or

Oatmeal with Almond milk served with chopped maple pecans, dried cranberries and berries

or

Blueberry pancakes with berries or blueberry muffins or buckwheat granola

 

**( add vegan bacon and sausage, although I don’t like most available brands and prefer to leave out)

 

Fruit and veggie smoothies.

 

Lunch ideas:

 Always have lettuce and chopped veggies prepared in the fridge, with homemade vegan dressings.   Dressings include vinaigrette and creamy green ranch.  I currently love making kale salads

 Tomato Bisque (a client favorite)

 or

Cajun Portabello Sandwich with Avocado & Remoulade

 or

Tomato, ‘Mozarella’ & Pesto Panini (a client favorite)

 

Dinner ideas:

 

Old Bay Tofu Crabcakes w Pan-roasted Summer Veggies, Horseradish Cream, with Apple and Beets topping. (a client favorite)

 or

Peppercorn encrusted Portobello fillets with Tomato Béarnaise and Mash Potatoes (a client favorite)

 or

Gardein Chicken Scallopini with Shitake Sake sauce, Braised Pea Shoots and Crispy Udon Noodle Cakes (a client favorite)

 

Desert ideas:

 

Lemon pistachio cookies with dried cranberries

 or

Shortcakes with blackberry basil sauce & cinnamon cream

 

Please note, the lunch and dinner ideas listed above are all recipes from Tal Ronnen’s cookbook.  Although I love these recipes, they are not low in calories, so are not for daily consumption.  For sauces, Ronnen uses raw cashews and Earth Balance, both products are high in calories. 

For a day to day lifestyle,  a carb breakfast of oatmeal and fruit, a kale salad lunch with nuts for protein and a veggie, protein and brown rice dinner sounds ideal to me.  I would love people to comment and add some of their favorite books and recipes.  Especially low calorie and gluten free.

 

