How to Effectively Lose Weight and Keep it off: Without Feeling Deprived

by hillaryshort

Image

How did you lose so much weight? That is the big question I am being frequently asked.  Having gained 30lb over 3 years and a wardrobe of clothes that no longer fit me, I decided to get back into shape. Getting into shape again is foremost an emotional process, followed by a discipline. 

The mental recognition that I didn’t want to be emotionally dependent on carbs and sugars any longer was the first step.  As a personal chef for the glamorous Hollywood crowd, I know the actions necessary to empower my body once again.

These are the rules:

1. Keep things simple. The 2 big food groups to cut out when first losing weight – sugar and wheat.

2. Focus on what you can eat, not what you can’t

3. Have naughty binge foods to curb the craving in the begining – for me, I use nuts

4. Make sure to get your body moving at least 1/2 hour a day – gets the endorphins going

5. Recognize if you are Hungry, Angry, Lonely or Tired (HALT) – fulfill that need before you use sugar.

By removing sugar, I also mean fruit, orange veggies etc.

The friends and clients my age who look healthy and lean, eat this way:

BREAKFAST:

Eggs with either spinach, cheese, avocado, bacon some berries

or

Oatmeal with sliced almonds & dried cranberries

tea, coffee and water

LUNCH

Grilled chicken breast, with salad mix, cucumber, olives, nuts and olive oil, splash of vinegar

Water

DINNER

Ground Bison or Beef, steak, chicken, fish with greens, I like spinach, brocoli or kale

I found by cutting out sugar, my hunger didn’t spike at all in the day.  I did eat rice sometimes and gradually added back into the diet more fruit and other foods. 

The “trendy” food on LA’s Westside at the moment, is kale salad.  The most popular one is from the restaurant Gjelina on Abbot Kinney. I keep a bowl of it in my fridge to eat for lunch etc.  This is the recipe and to adapt slightly, I sometimes add smalled diced pieces of salami.

GJELINA’S KALE SALAD RECIPE (SEE PHOTO ABOVE):

1 Bunch of Kale, stems and centers discarded, finely sliced
1 Bulb of Fennel, finely sliced
4 Radishes, finely sliced
1 cup Ricotta Salata, finely sliced
Splash of White Balsamic Vinegar
1/2 Lemon, juiced
1 1/2 tbsp. of olive oil
Salt and Pepper to taste

In a large bowl, combine finely sliced kale, a drizzle of olive oil, 1/4 of lemon and a pinch of salt. Massage the kale until it starts to soften, about 2 min. Massaging the kale in the oil makes all the difference.

Then add the sliced fennel, radish and ricotta salata. Toss with the rest of the lemon juice, a splash of white balsamic vinegar and salt and pepper to taste.

**The thinly slicing of kale leaves is time consuming, most grocery stores now provide pre-sliced kale

 

For those of you who have trouble eating greens. Evolution green veggie drinks are easiest to digest. I sometimes take one bottle for my lunch if I know I will be too busy to eat lunch. 

 

