Euphoria loves rawvolution, Matt Amsden and his raw onion bread recipe

by hillaryshort

My lunch today at Euphoria loves Rawvolution

I am really trying to ‘Eat Right America’, this is not as easy as I had anticipated. I guiltily indulged in cakes, curry and shepherd’s pie over the weekend. With this in mind at lunch time today I went to ‘Euphoria loves Rawvolution’ on Main Street in Santa Monica. It is my favorite place to eat on that street. I love the raw food and always feel energetic afterwards, but unfortunately still hungry!! Today I ate the wrap photographed above. It was filled with green veggies and cashews. The wrap was delicious and made from coconut. The dipping sauce had a sate flavor to it. With that I had an electrolyte lemonade drink and an almond and lemon cake. All delicious with plenty of flavors.

Matt Amsden with his weekly box to go

Matt Amsden creates these delicious raw foods. He also provides a weekly service for $120 of a box of raw food. The box is so popular in Los Angeles, he has to ship all over America. The demand for boxes is so large in New York, he has had to set up a service there too. I am so tempted to commit to a weekly purchase.

Raw onion bread

Matt Amsden has written a raw recipe book “Gourmet Living Cuisine”. I searched online for a recipe from the book to add to today’s blog. He obviously has dedicated fans that adhere to the copyright laws. However I did manage to find this recipe:

“Onion Bread

Servings: 9 (2 pieces each serving)
This is an easy, flavorful bread than can be used to make sandwiches, to dip or to eat alone. This is an easy recipe for variations! Pictured with hummus and tomatoes and a side of spinach caesar salad (photo above).

Based on a recipe by Matt Amsden in RAWVolution. I’ve made a few changes: the paste to onion ratio has been boosted for a thicker consistency and the Nama Shoyu percentage is down for taste.

Ingredients:
3 yellow onions, large
1 cup flax seeds (golden, brown or a combo), ground
1 cup raw sunflower seeds, ground in a food processor
½ cup Braggs Liquid Aminos or Nama Shoyu
¼ cup cold pressed olive oil

Preparation:
Peel and half the onions. Slice in a food processor (with slicing disc).
Place onions in large bowl and mix with rest of ingredients until thoroughly combined.
Spread mix over a Teflex sheet and repeat until all of mixture is used (I usually end up using 2 sheets).
Dehydrate at 100°F for 24 hours. Flip and return to dehydrator for 12 hours.
Cut into 9 equal pieces (2 cuts horizontally, 2 cuts vertically). Usually makes 18 pieces.

