A VEGGIE START TO THE YEAR

by hillaryshort

Hello Everyone,

I am not able to keep up with my food menus as much as I would like to. Being a personal chef, cooking for clients keeps me occupied. I can’t grumble though because so many people aren’t working. I love my business and especially enjoy creating dishes. Even though most of my clients aren’t veggies, I love creating vegetarian dishes. Also vegan. My latest finds are two cook books – one vegetarian and the other is a vegan book. “The Accidental Vegetarian” by Simon Rimmer and “The Conscious Cook” by Tal Ronnen.

Here are my favorite dishes tried, tested and enjoyed from these books:

VEGGIE:
Spicy (or not) beet and coconut soup
Lemon, fennel and oyster mushroom salad
Plantain and mango curry
Oriental pie (a portobello, shitake and chickpea shepherds pie)
Italian bean casserole with fried risotto & sun dried tomato cakes
Wild mushroom pancakes with green beans and tomato sauce
Banana dahl
Chinese mushroom pancakes with plum sauce (great with peking duck for non veggies)
Pumpkin enchilladas with mole sauce

VEGAN:
Tomato Bisque
Lemongrass consomee with pea shoot and mushroom dumplings
Asparagus and meyer lemon risotto
Gardein “chicken” scaloppini with shitake sake sauce, braised pea shoots and crispy udon noodle cakes
Old bay tofu cakes with pan roasted summer vegetables, horseradish cream and apple & beets
Wild mushroom farinata with arichoke aioli and roasted cherry tomatoes

I hope these recipes will inspire you!!

